

# Minute of Scottish Environment LINK 34th Annual General Meeting held on 24 November 2022.

Attending: Charles Dundas (Chair), Claudia Gebhardt (Bat Conservation Trust), Aedán Smith (RSPB), Paul Walton (Trustee), Karen Blackport (Trustee), Sue Hamilton (Planning Democracy), Kat Jones (APRS), Gus Jones (BSCG), Alan Drever (NF), John Mayhew (APRS), Tim Ambrose (Treasurer, Cairngorms Campaign), Kathy Wormald (Trustee, Froglife), Helen Todd (RAS), Craig McAdam (Buglife), Alison Lomax (HWDT), Kevin Lelland (Trustee, JMT), Emily Burton, (SSC) Stephanie Mander (Nourish), Gavin Macgregor (AS), David McKay (Soil Association), Lucy Graham (Trustee, SWT), Diarmid Hearns (NTS), Natalie Stevenson (Buglife), Sarah McKain (BES), Clare Cavers (Fidra), Beryl Leatherland (SWLG), John Taylor (WWFS), Eddie Palmer (SBT), Alistair Whyte (Plantlife), Bruce Wilson (SWT), Cornell Hanxomphou (ERCS).

Staff: Deborah Long (CO), Phoebe Cochrane (SEPO), Fanny Royanez (MPEO), Dan Paris (AM), Miriam Ross (CC). Alice Walsh (notes)

# 1. Introduction to AGM and any apologies for absence.

Charles reminded everyone that the meeting would be recorded on zoom. Members introduced themselves. Apologies were received from Keep Scotland Beautiful, ScotFwag, Marine Conservation Society, Whale & Dolphin Conservation, Trees for Life and Amphibian and Reptile Conservation, and James Woodhouse (proposed co-optee).

# 2. Minutes of last meeting on 6 October 2021

Corrections to the minute were invited. There were none. Approval was proposed by Tim Ambrose, seconded by Kevin Lelland, and accepted by those present.

# 3. Annual Report & Accounts for year to 31 March 2022 (Paper 2).

Tim Ambrose introduced the accounts. The report is in two parts, a narrative section comprising a detailed record of LINK's activities over the year. He thanked Deborah for preparing it. The second part was the financial statement, which was again substantial due to LINK being a parent company of the Environmental Rights Centre for Scotland, once again this year. Tim highlighted some of the key figures, in particular the healthy balance of £459k of unrestricted funds at the year end, some of which is contributing to current operations. To date most of the surplus has been held in cash. The Board has explored investing some of the surplus next year. He thanked Tanyara Matore, Head of Finance who did much of the preparations, and Emma Marshall at Geoghegans & Co, who prepared the audit. A full audit was carried out due to the income threshold this year. Tim invited comments and questions, and there were none. He recommended the accounts to the meeting. There were no questions or comments. Kathy Wormald seconded.



# 4. Election of Trustees & Office Bearers; Appointment of Honorary Fellows

One third of the elected trustees stood down at each AGM. Paul Walton and Craig Macadam had served three consecutive terms. Charles thanked them for their hugely significant contributions to the Board. Charles was standing again as Chair. Mary Scott was standing down as a trustee. One nomination had come forward, Aedán Smith, of RSPB.

Aedán was head of policy and advocacy of RSPB Scotland, and was by training a chartered planner. He has been engaged with LINK for 15 years, working with various groups, in particular as convenor of the Planning Group, and as a member of the Governance and Economics Group. He was currently a trustee of ERCS and SCCS. He looked forward to working with the Board. His election was proposed by Diarmid Hearns, seconded by Claudia Gebhardt, approved by all those present and 4 proxy votes.

Tim Ambrose took over chairing the meeting at this point.

Election of Charles Dundas as Chair for a further year: It was proposed by Beryl Leatherland, seconded by Gus Jones. 22 members approved, including 4 proxy votes. Charles noted that this would be his last year as Chair.

Election of Kevin Lelland as Vice Chair and Tim Ambrose as Treasurer: This was proposed by Craig Macadam, seconded by John Taylor. 21 members were in favour, including 4 who voted by proxy.

Appointment of co-optees: The Board proposed to coopt Karen Blackport, and to coopt James Woodhouse, who is willing to take over as treasurer to replace Tim Ambrose who must retire in 2023. This would allow a period of handover. Proposer Tim Ambrose, seconded by Lucy Graham.

Charles noted that the office of President was vacant, and would remain so until a suitable candidate was found. In the meantime a number of Honorary Fellows were stepping up very well on the occasions where this type of representation was required.

Honorary Fellows: there were three nominations for Eila McQueen, Richard Dixon and Sam Gardner who had long associations with LINK. This was proposed by John Mayhew, seconded by Kathy Wormald. 22 members approved, including 4 proxy votes.

# 5. Appointment of Independent Financial Examiners / Auditors

Tim recommended continuing to engage Geoghegans and Co on the grounds of their expertise and value for money which Charles also endorsed. Bruce Wilson proposed, Sue Hamilton seconded.

# 6. Annual Subscriptions for the year 2022/23

The Board has recommended no change to subscriptions for 2023-24. Charles commended



this to members. It was proposed by Beryl Leatherland, seconded by Diarmid Hearns.

#### 7. Any other business.

John proposed a vote of thanks to the hardworking trustees and staff, heartily endorsed by those present, and the Chair.

Charles closed the meeting. He hoped to see members in person on 8 December at the Festive reception.

Scottish Environment LINK the voice for Scotland's environment



Registered office: 5 Atholl Place, Perth, PH1 5NE. A Scottish Charity No. SC000296 Scottish Environment LINK is a Scottish Company Limited by Guarantee and without a share capital under Company no. SC250899